Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe in second ODI

Published: December 3, 2010

commentComment         Print This Post Print This Post

Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe in second ODI thumbnail

Mesmerizing performance by the left-handed spinning duo and sensible batting later on cruised Tigers into the victory and levelled the series on Friday in the second match of Micromax ODI series.

Chasing a target of 191 runs, Junaed Siddique (53) and Tamim Iqbal (44) started to show off the visitors with mind-blistering shots from all over the green lash pitch of Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium after losing opener Imrul Kayes (10) cheaply.

As soon as Tamim got out with a strike rate of 91.66 percent, Raqibul Hasan came in and joined the run-fiesta of the Tigers.

The right-handed number four in the batting lineup, replacing Ashraful, made 65 runs off just 79 balls with courtesy of six boundaries and a maximum.

But he could not celebrate victory staying in the field with skipper Shakib Al Hasan (9) as he was stamped in a Keith Dabengwa delivery when just four runs needed for the victory

Next batsman Muyshfiqur Rahim made no mistake and help his side winning the second ODI and level the series with a boundary through extra-cover.

Earlier in the morning, player of the match Abdur Razzak and Shakib Al Hasan wrapped up the Zimbabwean innings in just 191 runs by hauling five, with a hat-trick and four wickets respectively.

The left-arm spin duo picked up nine wickets for 69 runs in 18.2 overs as Zimbabwe struggled almost throughout their innings.

The only Zimbabwe batsman made some resistance against them was Craig Ervine, who made 42 runs with six boundaries.

The one remaining wicket was bagged by pacer Shafiul Islam.

Earlier in the morning, Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and invited the visitors to bat first.

Zimbabwe beat the hosts by nine runs in the opening match on Wednesday.

Bangladesh: Imrul Kayes, Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Raqibul Hasan, Naeem Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam, Suhrawadi Shuvo.

Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor, Chamu Chibhabha, Regis Chakabva, Craig Ervine, Elton Chigumbura (captain), Tatenda Taibu (wk), Keith Dabengwa, Keegan Meth, Prosper Utseya, Ray Price, Chris Mpofu.

WPSN comments

2 Comments on "Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe in second ODI"

  1. ravi on Thu, 9th Dec 2010 3:14 pm 

    bangladesh cricket improved a lot,i think ,they will do a lot in future..

  2. ravi on Thu, 9th Dec 2010 3:19 pm 

    i think they played well in second odi against zimbabwe..