Bangladesh lead the series 2-1

Published: December 6, 2010

commentComment         Print This Post Print This Post

Bangladesh lead the series 2-1 thumbnail

Brilliant performances both from batting and bowling departments led Bangladesh to take a 2-1 lead in the five-match Micromax ODI series on Monday as they beat Zimbabwe by 65 runs in the third match.

The visitors were bowled out for 181 runs in 48.1 overs as spinner Abdur Razzak and pacer Shafiul Islam took four wickets each while Mashrafe Mortaza and and Shakib Al Hasan picked up one wicket each at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

Earlier, two magnificent half-centuries from Shakib Al Hasan 73 (91) and Mushfiqur Rahim 63 (73) propelled Bangladesh to a fighting total of 246/7.

Zimbabwe bowler Prosper Utseya picked up four wickets while Hamilton Masakadza, Ray Price and Chris Mpofu took one each.

Earlier in the morning, Zimbabwe captain Prosper Utseya invited Bangladesh to bat first after wining the toss.

Earlier, Zimbabwe beat Bangladesh by 9 runs in the opening match on December 1 while Bangladesh stunned them by six wickets in the second match on December 3.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Raqibul Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Naeem Islam, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam.

Zimbabwe: Regis Chakabva, Chamu Chibhabha, Prosper Utseya (captain) Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor, Tatenda Taibu, Craig Ervine, Shingrai Masakadza, Graeme Cremer, Chris Mpofu, Ray Price..

WPSN comments