Abahani on top against Mohammedan

Published: January 30, 2009

commentComment         Print This Post Print This Post

Abahani on top against Mohammedan thumbnail

Abahani won the season’s first battle against Mohammedan quite convincingly when the defending champions outplayed their traditional rivals by eight wickets in the Premier Division Twenty20 cricket at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur yesterday.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza made a bright start as a captain as the pace spearhead claimed two wickets and took a sharp catch as Abahani secured their successive third victory to brighten their semifinal chances from Group A.

It was a double blow for Mohammedan after their football team lost to Abahani in the B. League just four days earlier.

Opener Shamsur Rahman top scored 35 but there was no firework from Mohammedan as they could manage only 115 runs for seven wickets in their share of 20 overs, which all but dashed hopes of an exciting match.

Abahani pacer Ziaur Rahman was the most successful bowler with three for 25.

In reply, Rony Talukdar (18) and Imran Ahmed (36) made a confident start and shared 46 runs and then it was wicketkeeper batsman Sahagir Hossain who smashed five fours and a match-winning six off Sajedul Islam in an unbeaten 41 off 34 balls as Abahani overhauled the target (119 for 2) in 17.3 overs in a one-sided affair.

Mohammad Ashraful-led Gazi Tank were the other team who continued their winning run to top Group B as they handed an eight-wicket defeat to City Club at BKSP.

The Bangladesh captain showed yet another all-round performance as he followed up his 2-19 with an unbeaten 23-ball 25. Mithun Ali, however, took charge by smashing eight boundaries during his 42-ball 48 while Nafis Iqbal contributed 35 as Gazi Tank made 122-2 in 19 overs in reply to City’s 118-8.

In the second match at Mirpur, Biman outclassed BKSP by six wickets to register their second win in Group B.

Spinner Nabil Samad’s 3-wicket haul for nine runs after Shahadat Hossain’s early strike powered Biman to restrict BKSP for 81-9.

Biman made a shaky start in chase of a paltry target as they lost two wickets for four runs but a 50-run third wicket stand between Javed Omar (22 not out) and Mushfiqur Rahman (25) helped them reach the target with two overs to spare.

In the same group, Surjo Torun also secured their second win when they beat CCS by 22 runs thanks to Anisur Rahman’s unbeaten 26-ball 35 that featured three fours and a six. Anisur’s effort helped Surjo Torun to put up 135-6 in stipulated 20 overs at the Fatullah Cricket Stadium.

In reply, Nazmul Hossain hit a 37-ball 45 with the help of five boundaries but still, CCS were restricted to 113-6.

Young Pegasus kept their hopes alive for a last four berth from Group A as they won their second match with a five-run victory over bottom-side Victoria at BKSP cricket ground.

Number five Sharifullah made unbeaten 45 off 37 balls but Victoria completed their 20-over quota with 116-8 in reply to Pegasus 121-7.

At Fatullah, Rezaul Haque returned with five wickets as Partex defeated Old DOHS by six wickets to record their first victory in three games.

Old DOHS scored 99 for eight while Partex achieved the target for the loss of four wickets with one ball remaining.

115-7 in 20 overs (Shamsur 36, Farhad 24, Marshal 21 not out, extras 13; Mashrafe 2-18, Zia 3-25, Sunny 2-22).
ABAHANI: 119-2 in 17.3 overs (Rony 18, Imran 36, Sahagir 41 not out, extras 13; Dollar 1-28, Shuvo 1-11).
Result: Abahani won by eight wickets.

BKSP: 81-9 in 20 overs (Mominul 24, extras 7; Shahadat 2-6, Razzak 2-12, Nabil 3-9, Shahajada 2-15).
BIMAN: 82-4 in 18 overs (Javed 22 not out, Mushfiqur 25, extras 9; Riaz 2-19, Furkan 2-11).
Result: Biman won by six wickets.

SURJO TORUN: 135-6 in 20 overs (Hannan 26, Rajin 24, Anisur 35 not out, extras 8; Ashraful 2-30).
CCS: 113-6 in 20 overs (Uttam 20, Nazmul 45, extras 3; Mustakim 2-22).
Result: Surjo Torun won by 22 runs.

OLD DOHS: 99-8 in 20 overs (Imtiaz 29, Kafi 28, extras 11; Rezaul Haque 5-12)
PARTEX: 100-4 in 19.5 overs (Ashraful 22, extras 9)
Result: Partex won by six wickets.

PEGASUS: 121-7 in 20 overs (Zubaer 35, Maruf 23, extras 28; Aslam 2-13)

VICTORIA: 116-8 in 20 overs (Shrifullah 45 not out, Bashar 3-20)
Result: Pegasus won by five runs.

CITY: 118-8 in 20 overs (Lalmohon 29, Hamidur 35, extras 13; Younus 3-18, Mukter 2-16, Ashraful 2-19).
GAZI TANK: 122-2 in 19 overs (Mithun 48, Nafis 35 not out, Ashraful 25 not out, extras 9; Shafaq 1-32).
Result: Gazi Tank won by eight wickets.

WPSN comments

2 Comments on "Abahani on top against Mohammedan"

  1. alamin on Fri, 10th Apr 2009 4:07 am 

    i want attend to the team.please let me know about it.

  2. md.anwar shahadat on Sat, 21st Jan 2012 7:12 am 

    hi,i m playing for english country leage first deveation cambridgeshire in united kingdom last 3 years. now i want to play in balgladesh. i m a opener avg :45 best:112 .all rounder aswell boling best:12/5 .