Bangladesh will host 8 matches including Opening Ceremony and 2 QT Finals

Published: April 29, 2009

commentComment         Print This Post Print This Post

Bangladesh will host 8 matches including Opening Ceremony and 2 QT Finals thumbnail

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) was pleased to see two quarterfinals of the ICC World Cup 2011 come its way after the tournament’s organising committee relocated Pakistan’s fourteen matches in Mumbai yesterday.

India will host the final and one semifinal while Sri Lanka will stage the other semifinal. The other two quarterfinals will be hosted by the two co-hosts.

Bangladesh will stage eight matches at two grounds as well as the opening ceremony on February 18, 2011. India will host 29 of the 49 matches across eight venues and Sri Lanka will host 12 in three venues.

“We [the board] are happy that we got two quarterfinals but it is true that we expected a semifinal. Sri Lanka wanted to hold the opening ceremony, giving us the semifinal but we kept the opening ceremony and were given the quarterfinals,” revealed BCB media committee chairman Jalal Yunus.

“Now that the number of matches are confirmed we are definitely looking forward to working hard and wasting no time,” said Yunus.

The BCB will decide on three venues for the eight matches with one kept as alternate before the International Cricket Council (ICC) hold their inspection of the venues.

“Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Fatullah Stadium, Bangabandhu National Stadium and Chittagong Divisional Stadium are the ICC approved Test venues so we would decide on the three venues for the World Cup before ICC comes for their inspection,” added Yunus.

BCB has less than two years now to be prepared for the opening ceremony as well as the matches but Yunus sounded confident of being ready.

“I think two years is enough time and I think it’s best if we don’t waste time and start working towards it,” said Yunus.

Cricinfo adds: The World Cup’s organising committee also decided to shift the tournament secretariat from Lahore to Mumbai. BCCI’s chief administrative officer Ratnakar Shetty was appointed the event’s managing director in place of Pakistani banker Salman Butt. The organising committee, headed by ICC vice-president Sharad Pawar, will include an operations and planning group comprising the Bangladesh Cricket Board senior vice-president Mahbubul Anam, Indian board secretary N Srinivasan, Sri Lanka’s Duleep Mendis and Shetty. Haroon Lorgat, the ICC’s chief executive, said IS Bindra, the special adviser to the ICC, would be a key person in the management of the World Cup.

He swept aside questions on whether Pakistan would boycott the World Cup in protest at being denied hosting rights, saying “we will cross the bridge when we come to it.” The ICC had to decide on the redistribution of Pakistan’s 14 matches after it removed the country from the list of hosts because the “uncertain political situation” would have made it difficult to “deliver a safe, secure and successful event” in Pakistan.

Lorgat said the security concerns of the various ICC members and the players would be addressed with the formation of a special committee headed by Shashank Manohar, the BCCI chief, to oversee security details. “The security arrangements are very important and a special committee… would put together security plans for the successful conduct of the World Cup in 2011,” he said.

“We are confident of organising a very successful World Cup,” Lorgat said.

The subcontinent last hosted a World Cup in 1996, when India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka shared the games. The final was in Lahore, where Sri Lanka beat favourites Australia in a famous win.

WPSN comments

One Comment on "Bangladesh will host 8 matches including Opening Ceremony and 2 QT Finals"

  1. BIJANKANTICHAKRABORTY on Tue, 4th May 2010 1:24 pm 

    ticket information of opening ceremony
    Where i will be found Opening ceremony Ticket From Tripura(INDIA)