Bangladesh restrict England to 225

Published: March 11, 2011

commentComment         Print This Post Print This Post

Bangladesh restrict England to 225 thumbnail

Bouncing back from their 58-all-out humiliation against West Indies last week, Bangladeshi spinners restricted England to 225 in 49.4 overs where England batsmen Jonathan Trott and Eoin Morgan knocked brilliant half centuries.

Naeem Islam, Shakib Al Hasan and Abdur Razzak grabbed two wickets each while and Mahmudullah, Shafiul Islam and Rubel Hossain took one wicket each.

Spinners seize control over the whole match capturing seven wickets while pacers took only two wickets and another was run out.

Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan invited England to bat after winning the toss.

England have changed, Michael Yardy, Stuart Broad and Kevin Pietersen with Paul Collingwood, Ajmal Shahzad and Eoin Morgan.

Bangladesh made a change with the ever-underachieving Mohammad Ashraful omitted in favour of the combative off-spinning all-rounder Mahmudullah. Despite the collective failure of the batsmen, the rest of the line-up have been trusted to make amends for their shortcomings against West Indies.

Today’s win should be enough for England to advance to the knock-out rounds as they have five points from four Group B matches.

On the other hand, Bangladesh must not only beat England, but also defeat the Netherlands and South Africa to cement a place in the quarterfinals.

England: Andrew Strauss (capt), Matt Prior (wk), Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Paul Collingwood, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, Ajmal Shahzad and James Anderson.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Raqibul Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam.

WPSN comments