Historic series win for Bangladesh

Published: October 14, 2010

commentComment         Print This Post Print This Post

Historic series win for Bangladesh thumbnail

Bangladesh clinched the Micromax ODI Cup beating New Zealand by nine runs in fourth ODI at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.

Shakib Al Hasan once again led his side from the front to a nail-biting finish in the fourth ODI on Thursday.

The skipper in-charge not only scored a magnificent century at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, but also picked up three crucial wickets right at the end of the Black Caps’ innings which confirmed the Tigers’ first-ever series win against any top Test-playing opposition.

Apart from Shakib, pacer Shafiul Islam picked up two and left-arm spinning duo Abdur Razzak and Suhrawardi Shuvo bagged one each. Mahmudullah and fast bowler Rubel Hossain also picked up one wicket each.

Despite Kane Williamson’s maiden hundred, the Kiwi team just fell nine runs short. No one else could really help the injured batsman, playing with a runner, to build up a solid partnership.

Earlier in the day, Shakib, also the man-of-the-match, rebuilt the innings by scoring a well-crafted 106 runs off 113 balls after the team sustained some early losses and played intelligently through the middle period to guide the Tigers to what proved to be a very competitive total on the slow Mirpur wicket.

Imrul Kayes (37) and Mahmudullah (37) were the other two batsmen who contributed moderately in making up the innings.

Bangladesh are now leading the five-match series 3-0 after stunning the visitors by nine runs in the first ODI on October 5 and by seven wickets in the third ODI on October 14. The second one was abandoned due to rain on October 8.

The final match of the series will be played on Sunday.

Bangladesh: Shahriar Nafees, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Raqibul Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Suhrawadi Shuvo, Abdur Razzaq Shafiul Islam, Rubel Hossain.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum, Aaron Redmond, BJ Watling, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson Grant Elliott, Daniel Vettori (Captain) Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Daryl Tuffey, Hamish Bennett

WPSN comments

6 Comments on "Historic series win for Bangladesh"

  1. Sumon on Thu, 14th Oct 2010 5:37 pm 

    Vai kije khushi hoychi volar moto na.

  2. Shamim ahamed on Thu, 14th Oct 2010 8:58 pm 

    Ami bangali hisabe onakgorbo korsi.ami onak kusi.ata akta etihas.

  3. Imtiaz ahmed on Fri, 15th Oct 2010 8:40 am 

    ITS A GREAT NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. hasan on Sun, 17th Oct 2010 2:26 pm 


  5. Sadik Emon on Sun, 17th Oct 2010 6:09 pm 

    I think bangladesh will improve a lot…………..request them please keep our hope……..carry on tigers ……you are our pride.

  6. Moumita on Mon, 18th Oct 2010 1:49 pm 

    onek valo lagche.erokom joy amader spnoke sotti korese.mone hosse amra world cup-e peye gesi.shakib ebong Bangladesh cricket k onek suvechcha.GOOD LUCK and CARRY ON BANGLADESH CRICKET…….