SL in strong position after Day 2

Published: January 28, 2014

commentComment         Print This Post Print This Post

SL in strong position after Day 2 thumbnail

Sri Lanka ended the second day of the first Test match with a lead of 143 runs against Bangladesh in Mirpur today.

The visitors scored 375 runs for the loss of five wickets by the end of the day at at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Lankan opener Kaushal Silva was the top scorer for the Lankans as he struck a well-balanced 139 of 244 balls.

Top order batsmen Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara and Dinesh Chandimal all made valuable contributions to the total, scoring 53, 75 and 40 respectively.

Mahela Jayawardene was unbeaten on 42 when the day’s play came to a close.

Shakib Al Hasan was the pick of the bowlers for Bangladesh, as he claimed three wickets for 94 runs.

On the first day, Sri Lanka finished with 60 for no loss.

Karunaratne fell after striking a controlled 53 off 113 balls, offering a simple catch to Robiul Islam off the bowling of Shakib Al Hasan in the morning session of the second day.

Two Lankan batsmen then took control over the hosts and build a partnership of 119 runs.

Bangladesh folded for 232 in the face of a rampant Sri Lankan attack in the first inning on Day 1 with skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan being the only batsmen to make notable contribution to the innings as they scored 61 and 55 respectively.

The Lankans have a nearly flawless record against Bangladesh, when it comes to Test cricket.

Of the 14 matches that the two teams faced, Sri Lanka have won 13 of them.

The only draw took place last year in March at Galle; a match which saw Mushfiqur become the first Bangladeshi to score a double hundred.

Despite the visitors’ strong record, Sri Lankan captain expects the series to be challenging.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Shamsur Rahman, 3 Marshall Ayub, 4 Mominul Haque, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Nasir Hossain, 8 Sohag Gazi, 9 Al-Ameen Hossain , 10 Robiul Islam, 11 Rubel Hossain.

Sri Lanka: 1 Kaushal Silva, 2 Dimuth Karunaratne, 3 Kumar Sangakkara, 4 Mahela Jayawardene, 5 Kithuruwan Vithanage, 6 Angelo Mathews (capt), 7 Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 8 Dilruwan Perera, 9 Shaminda Eranga, 10 Rangana Herath, 11 Suranga Lakmal

WPSN comments