Twenty20 Semi finalists

Published: February 1, 2009

commentComment         Print This Post Print This Post

Twenty20 Semi finalists thumbnail

Abahani Limited, Mohammedan SC, Gazi Tanks and Bangladesh Biman moved into the semi-finals of the Premier Division Twenty20 Cricket League by defeating their respective rivals on Saturday.

Reigning champions Abahani defeated Victoria by 11 runs in the Premier Division Ewenty20 League at the Fatullah stadium.

Batting first, Abahani were all out for 135 runs in 20 overs with Nadif Chowdhury scoring 30 and Shahagir Hossain adding 16. Sharafullah scalped three wickets for 20 runs.

In reply, Amit Majumder hit a fine 54 for Victoria but all the other batsmen failed to make any significant contribution as they managed 124 for seven in the allotted overs. Ziaur Rahman picked up four wickets for 17 runs.

Dhaka Mohammedan beat Partex by nine runs at the BKSP. Sohrawardi Shuvo scored 37, Marshall Ayub added 29 and Rashedul Huq scored 25 as Mohammedan posted 136 for five after batting first. Mehrab Hossain Opee’s 29, Wasiur Rahman Joy’s 27 and Mushfiqur Rahim’s 24 could not save Partex as they stopped on 127 for five.

Gazi Tanks defeated BKSP by 18 runs at the Fatullah stadium. Batting first, Gazi Tanks piled up 136 for three in 20 overs with Imrul Kayes scoring 38, Mithun Ali adding 31, Nayeem Islam contributing 28 and Mohammad Ashraful remaining not out on 30. Later, Nayeem Islam took three wickets for 15 runs as BKSP finished their 20 overs making 118 for nine. Shaikat Ali’s 38 and Imamul Mustaqim’s 28 were the other notable scorers.

Young Pegasus and Old DOHS ended up in a tie at the Mirpur stadium but at the end of the match Old DOHS were declared winners by one run in the one-over-per-side batting. Batting first, Young Pegasus scored 121 for seven with Bulbul Bashak scoring 38 and Rajesh chipping in with 23. Later, Fazle Rabbi of DOHS led the charge with 36 and Raju added 14 at No 10 to finish the match in a tie. DOHS had scored 121 for eight. Abul Bashar scalped two wickets for 19 runs. In the one-over batting, Old DOHS scored eight runs while Young Pegasus made seven.

Biman Bangladesh defeated CCS by one wicket in a competitive match at the Mirpur stadium. CCS batted first and scored 101 runs for seven in 20 overs with Uttam Sarker and Shuvo making 28 and 23 respectively. Nabil Samad grabbed four wickets for 11 runs. Later, pacer Shahadat Hossain, who had taken two wickets earlier, played a match-winning innings of 22 not out at No 10 to guide Biman to victory.

Surjo Tarun beat City Club by 11 runs at the BKSP. Two identical 33-run innings from Rajin Saleh and Anisur Rahman helped Surjo Tarun post 133 for five and they later restricted City Club to 122 to win the match.

WPSN comments

3 Comments on "Twenty20 Semi finalists"

  1. Shagor on Sun, 1st Feb 2009 1:05 am 


  2. shawon on Fri, 14th Aug 2009 7:38 pm 

    nice 1 ….but i like mash bowling style . go ahead mash ….he is my favouret criketer

  3. Cane willi on Sat, 10th Mar 2012 8:28 pm 

    Imrul kayes shouldn’t eat balls